Paragliding Yukesh and Footballer Sabitra declared Best Man and Woman player of the Year

Posted 3 weeks ago by Sandeep Bhattarai

Yukesh and Sabitra declared Best Man and Woman player of the Year

Paragliding pilot Yukesh Gurung won the best player of the year under men’s category while footballer Sabitri Bhandari took the women’s honour of the Pulsar Sports Award on Tuesday.

Yukesh had won silver medal in paragliding men’s cross country at the 18th Asian Games -2018 in Indonesia. Parash Khadka and Sompal Kami from cricket, Sukraraj Rai of golf and Indra Bahadur rai of judo were also nominated in the men’s category.

Footballer Sabitri had significantly contributed to make Nepal end as runners-up in the International Hero Gold Cup held in India. She beat other nominees in the women’s category such as Saraswati Chaudhary from volleyball, Sita Rana Magar from cricket, Manita Shrestha from judo and Nima Gurung from taekwondo.

Likewise, athlete Ajit Kumar Yadav clinched Best Youth Player of the year. He had won gold medal in 3,000-metre run in the 3rd Asian Youth Athletes Championship held in Hong Kong. He edged out other nominees- Prince Dahal of badminton, Lalit Narayan Rajbanshi from cricket, Manjali Yonjan of football and Bijaya Shrestha from karate.

Yogesh Bhattarai from paragliding bagged the Best Coach of the Year. He was awarded in recognition of his contribution to coaching for paragliding players, who secured a silver medal for Nepal in 20 years in the Asian Games.

Bhattarai edged out other nominees as Jagat Tamata from cricket, Dhaniram Chaudhary of athletics, Gyanendra Bista of volleyball and Hari Khadka from football.

Volleyball player Reshma Bhandari won People’s Choice Award. She beat other nominees as Sandip Lamichhane of cricket, Prince Dahal of badminton and Maheshwor Maharjan of bodybuilding.

Team of the year was bagged by the paragliding team while visually-impaired cricketer Man KC Chaudhary got Para Athletes Award. Special Award was given to Rohit Chand of football while Hari Bahadur Rokaya of athletics got Lifetime Achievement Award.

The International Sports Journalists Press Association (AIPS)’s Secretary-General Amjad Aziz Malik bagged International Asian Sports Journalists Award.

Each awardee in the male, female, coach, People’s Choice category got a trophy along with a Bajaj’s Pulsar bike while other winners got trophy and Rs 50,000 each.

Minister for Youth and Sports Jagat Bahadur Sunar, Nepal Sports Journalists Forum’s President (NSJF) Devendra Subedi and Nepal Olympic Committee Chairman Jivanram Shrestha among others awarded the winners in the programme organized by NSJF.

You can also download our Android App And iOS App . We are also in social network Facebook and Twitter

More News